Conservation – ronny (written in 5th grade)

emperor penguin

One time we were at the Monterey Bay aquarium.  It was when we saw some tuna that I asked my Dad why he didn’t eat any.  He said that while fishing certain kinds of tuna, fishermen killed dolphins. It was then that I started thinking about conservation.

From the age of four, I was always saying “Don’t leave the water running” or “Turn off the light”.  I was a little kid then, and didn’t know any other ways to help.  But now I know that persuading friends to walk or bike instead of driving cars or motorcycles can help stop pollution.  I recycle paper as much as I can, and continue to conserve water and power.

I don’t think people are conserving much these days.  They are poaching, chopping down rain forests, and polluting the air. Due to Greenhouse gases, the polar ice caps are melting, causing fish and other sea life to die.  Many animals have lost their homes and some are close to extinction.
I love animals and don’t think that they matter any less than humans!  We won’t just be very lonely without animals – animals are really important for our own survival.  I hope that people get moving to help species live in prosperity, and that animals get the respect they deserve.

I like zoos and aquariums with beautiful wildlife, like the Monterey Bay aquarium, because they help educate people. My Dad helped by being a member of the WWF since he was in high school. I’d like to help too. If I become an Official Explorer I will do my best to spread the word to other kids like me.

About ronrik

Ronny, born in New York, is interested in piano, chess, soccer and reading. (Intense!) Rikki, born in San Jose, loves monkeys, soccer, drums, art, legos and wildlife! (Dude!)

Leave a Reply

