blackout – rikki (9)

Blackout

Blackout

 

One dark evening…

I woke up to the sound of my cell phone ringing. I turned on my bed lamp and reached for the phone…when my hands met the cold metal I pulled it to my ear. “Hello?” I asked into the speaker. There was no response. “BAM!” A flash of light exploded from outside the room and the house shook like a rattle in a baby’s hand.

 The lights suddenly flickered, then turned off. “What the…” I breathed to myself. I walked towards my closet to get my flashlight and the floor creaked beneath me. I pulled the closet door open and snatched the flashlight from my shelf and turned it on. A beam of light ran down the hallway.

I turned the light away from the hall and pointed it at the window in my room. I walked towards my window and I looked out – lightning streaked the black sky and shook the house. I shuddered and switched the main light to the “ON” phase…nothing lit up. “A blackout” I thought to myself. I went into my parent’s room and looked in, they were fast asleep. I crept out and closed the door, and sauntered to my room. 

A chill ran up my spine, “Its cold as pie up here!” I exclaimed. I put on a sweatshirt and headed downstairs towards the thermostat. I looked at the temperature “52 degrees!” I whispered harshly. I cranked it up, but nothing happened. I bounded up the stairs and pulled the comforter off the bed. I wrapped it around myself and went back down the stairs into the kitchen.

I quickly took out ingredients for “Hot Chocolate” and headed towards the stove. I had read in a book, that in a blackout you could start the stove with a match, so I tried it and it worked! I placed the mug of Hot Cocoa on the fire and waited. I went back upstairs and sipped the steaming, rich chocolate all night. That morning I woke up on the floor, with an empty cup of coca next to me, to the sound of an alarm. 

 “School?” I asked myself. 

About ronrik

Ronny, born in New York, is interested in piano, chess, soccer and reading. (Intense!) Rikki, born in San Jose, loves monkeys, soccer, drums, art, legos and wildlife! (Dude!)

Leave a Reply

